Palazzo del Cinema, La Biennale di Venezia Official website: http://www.labiennale.org
In 1937, the Palazzo del Cinema, designed by architect Luigi Quagliata and also on the Lido, opened to showcase the modernization of the industry. The venue has a Sala Grande which seats 1,100 guests and three additional viewing rooms: Sala Volpi, Sala Zori, and Sala Pasinetti all of which are much smaller in size.
Palazzo del Cinema, East Entrance. Photo Source: Dr. Marjorie Och
Palazzo del Cinema: Newest entrance, Photosource: Google images
In 1952, the Palazzo del Cinema was enlarged because of the success and popularity of the film festival and a new façade and entrance hall was added to accommodate larger crowds. Frederico Fellini said for a film director, “entering the Palazzo del Cinema at the Venice Film Festival was like passing a final exam.”The grandeur of the space, the hype of the media outlets, and the pressure a director must feel as they await the audience’s response to their film must weigh heavily on producers of the films presented.
The entrance hall into the Palazzo del Cinema through the addition added in 1952. Photo Source: Veniceconvention.com
During World War II, Venice’s Film Festival was relocated to the Cinema San Marco outside of the Ducal Palace in 1946 because the Palazzo del Cinema has been requisitioned by the Allies until 1948. The Festival was once again held in the Palazzo del Cinema in 1949, where it continues to be held today
Festival held outside in Piazza San Marco, La Biennale di Venezia Official website: http://www.labiennale.org
 Thorton, Seven Days in the Art World, 235